Skip to main content
Hardware-in-the-Loop Testing for Microgrids search search close

The microgrid market is growing in rapid pace. It represents a shift in the paradigm of energy distribution. This transition comes with complexity and new challenges. Power generation becomes less stable and less predictable with growing distributed energy resources (DERs).

Over-currents resulting from fault conditions or start-up of sources can severely damage the protection and safety devices. Thorough analysis and testing to understand those challenges before deploying the controller to the field is necessary to reduce the risks. This webinar demonstrates how Speedgoat and MathWorks provide unified solutions and workflow to those challenges.  

Topics that we will cover include:

  • Understand the challenges of testing microgrids
  • Learn how to create microgrid models and run them in real-time
  • Demonstration of a microgrid hardware-in-the-loop testing workflow – example of  testing an energy management algorithm using a Siemens PLC and Speedgoat target machine
  • Learn how to set up different communication protocol interfaces like PROFINET or Modbus.
  • Discover solutions for Power HIL testing, including emulation of AC and DC microgrids

Hardware-in-the-Loop Testing for Microgrids

Webinar session including interactive Q&A: 60 minutes

 

Date and Time Registration Link
22 June 2022, 02:00 EST / 08:00 CET / 14:00 CST

Register for free

22 June 2022, 07:00 EST / 13:00 CET / 19:00 CST

Register for free

22 June 2022, 11:00 EST / 17:00 CET / 23:00 CST

Register for free

 

 

Steve Liu

Senior Application Engineer Electrification

 

Jonathan LeSage

MathWorks Senior Application​ Engineer

Related Content

Follow Speedgoat LinkedIn